NUP’s victorious Shamim Nambassa sworn in as 87th Makerere University Guild President


KAMPALA– The opposition’s National Unity Platform (NUP) candidate who won the Makerere University Guild Presidency race Shamim Nambassa has been sworn in.

H.E Nambassa was on Friday 26th November 2021 was sworn in as the Makerere University 87th students’ Guild President following her landslide victory. 

The recent highly competitive elections held on Friday 12th November 2021 with at least 10,000 participating in choosing their next Guild President saw Nambassa defeat other 9 contenders of the same position.

According to the Makerere University Electoral Commission, Nambassa got 5,610 votes followed by Kamulegeya Obeid Yahaya who came second with 1,548 votes and Mustinzi Ronald came 3rd with 1,187 votes.

Others included Byayesu Aggripa who got 697 votes followed by Bukala Silver with 649, Tumusiime Moses got 145, Tumuhaise Martin and Mwase John both got 117 votes, Ayeyo Sam got 70 votes and Omega Victor came last with 32 votes.

H.E Shamim Nambassa becomes the 5th Female Guild President in the history of the country’s oldest Makerere University.