CONFIRMED: Minister Raphael Magyezi withdraws from Igara West Parliamentary race

CONFIRMED: Minister Raphael Magyezi withdraws from Igara West Parliamentary race
Local Government Minister and Igara West legislator Raphael Magyezi

BUSHENYI- Local government Minister Raphael Magyezi has on Friday August 1st 2020 confirmed his withdrawal from the Igara West Parliamentary race in the forthcoming 2021 general elections.

Magyezi who has represented Igara West Constituency from the 9th Parliament made the revelation today during a Political talkshow “Orusaniya Rwamaziima” at the Ishaka town based Crane Radio.

MP Magyezi became popular in 2017 after he successfully tabled a private members bill that amended the Age limit clause in the constitution of Uganda.

“I came to Igara West in 2011 vied for the Parliamentary seat and the Electorates trusted me with their votes. I promised them what i was going to do for them, i did what i managed during that time” Magyezi said during the show.

The Minister added “I came back in 2016 and presented to my people what i had done and what i was aspiring to do. The voters again trusted me with their votes for otehr five years in Parliament.”

The Minister added that for the ten years he has served Igara West Constituency are enough and needs to relax from Politics and leave others to serve.

Magyezi also noted that he has compiled three books indicating what he has achieved in his ten years of legislation.

News of the Minister withdrawing from the race emerged on Friday July 31st 2020 citing that he now wants to concentrate on his Ministerial duties.

A number of people in Bushenyi said that the Minister’s withdrawal from the race came amidst reports that the Kasambya County legislator Gaffa Mbwatekamwa is shifting his political base to Igara County West Constituency come 20201.

The legislator who has represented Kasambya County in Mubende since 2016, was born and raised in Gongo village in Igara, Bushenyi district and he has already picked nomination forms from the ruling National Resistance Movement-NRM party to contest for Igara West Parliamentary seat where he is already a registered voter.