Vipers declared 2019-20 Uganda Premier League Champions

Vipers declared 2019-20 Uganda Premier League Champions
Vipers FC crowned winners of 2019-20 Uganda Premier League

KAMPALA- Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) has declared Vipers SC as the champions of the 2019/2020 UPL.

The development comes after the local governing body ended the 2019/2020 season because of the deadly COVID-19 pandemic.

With the league played at 75% stage, Vipers led the standings with 54 points from 25 matches, 4 points ahead of KCCA.

Consequently, Maroons, Proline and Tooro United are all relegated to the second tier division (FUFA Big League).

1Vipers SC25166354
2KCCA FC25155550
3SC Villa25137546
4Busoga United25133942
5URA FC251010540

By the time of the league break off, the aforementioned three clubs were bottom placed.


In the second division, two clubs (MYDA) and UPDF have been promoted since they led the second tier by the end of the first round.

Since 75% of matches had not been played in the second round, the rules are clear on the promotion, taking into consideration the first round table standings.

The third club to be promoted will be determined via a play off before kickoff of the 2020/2021 season.

The clubs set for that playoff battle are Kiboga Young, Kitara, Ndejje University and Kataka.

Meanwhile, the other football leagues (Women Elite League), Regional, Juniors, Regional and district leagues have been all cancelled.

There is a possibility to complete the Uganda Cup after closely monitoring the situation.